Week 3 of my Whole 30!

Here’s how the third week of my Whole 30 went! This week was a struggle – not in terms of cravings, but just because I had such bad digestive issues. I’m not sure what the cause was; I know it takes a while for your body to adjust to a new way of eating so it may have just been that. I was also under a lot of stress with deadlines for college – as IBS is strongly linked to stress (and I know it is for me), it may have been that either. That’s the worst thing about IBS, you really just can’t pin point it down to one thing!

IMG_20150119_155049962
The spinach is hiding!

Day 15:

B – Courgette soup with my last two turkey burger bites.

L – Chili with spinach and tomato.

D – Courgette soup with pulled pork.

  • Very sad that all the courgette soup is gone – the recipe only made 2ish servings, despite saying 4-6? Devo.  :(
  • My tummy is still upset today – I think it might be stress related?
  • Making carrot soup to have for the rest of the week tonight! #thecookingneverends
IMG_20150121_093203971
I ❤ soup for breakfast.

Day 16:

B – Carrot soup with pulled pork and a spoon of homemade barbecue sauce.

L – Chicken breast with a spoon of barbecue sauce with kale, tomato,baby potatoes and grilled bell pepper.

Afternoon – Banana.

D – Chili with sautéed kale and courgette.

  • My tummy is still so upset. :( I’m still going to power through in the hope that things iron themselves out over the next two weeks.
  • Loving soup for breakfast these days, it’s just as warming as my porridge used to be :)
  • I grabbed a banana after lunch to eat in the afternoon as I knew I wouldn’t be home until late – it was a great idea and it meant that I wasn’t really starving for dinner during the evening.
  • Can’t believe I’m more than halfway through!
IMG_20150120_244515970
Wasn’t a huge fan of the barbecue sauce – too strong of a pineapple flavour for me!

Day 17:

B – Carrot soup with pulled pork and a spoon of homemade barbecue sauce.

L – Chicken breast with a spoon of barbecue sauce with kale, tomato,baby potato, courgette and grilled bell pepper.

D – Chili with spinach.

  • Things still haven’t been looking up in the TMI front :(
  • Today I was working on an assignment so got delayed and couldn’t eat dinner until 8pm – although I was hungry my lunch fueled me through!
IMG_20150122_231419781
Afghan food is delish, but let’s be honest, it looks pretty gross.

Day 18:

B -Carrot soup with pulled pork and a spoonful of homemade barbecue sauce.

L – Chicken breast with a spoonful of barbecue sauce with kale, tomato,spinach, two teeny pieces of sweet potato, and cucumber.

D – Cooked a big compliant meal with the boyfriend, who had rice on the side ;) A ratatouille type dish with aubergine, courgette and tomato sauce, crispy chicken thigh and some lamb & spinach stew. So yum!

  • TMI issues have improved a little today.
  • Made more soup for tomorrow! It has turnip, kale, carrot and spices – sounds like a weird combo but it’s really good!
IMG_20150123_083702546
Soup and pulled pork is such a great combo!

Day 19:

B – Root veg soup with pulled pork & barbecue sauce.

L – Leftovers from dinner.

D – Leftovers from the week – chicken thigh, chilli, some of the aubergine dish & spinach. Also cooked some roast potatoes after.

  • The boyfriend ordered a big Domino’s so I made some roast potatoes to have instead :) If you’re tempted or miss Domino’s, all you need to do is look at their ingredients’ list – everything has a ludicrous amount of ingredients, it’s crazy! And the wedges are coated in wheat flour – insane.

Day 20:

B – Root veg soup with pulled pork & barbecue sauce.

Mid-morning – Leftover roast potatoes.

L – Some of the ratatouille dish, spinach, the last of the pulled pork.

Before dinner – grapes and two slices of serrano ham (compliant).

D – Kind-of-sloppy-joe type mince with spinach and tomato.

  • The roast potatoes were eaten in a bingey type way :( I don’t feel so bad as at least it was compliant food, but I’d really hoped to have turned a corner on the emotional eating thing.
  • Totally TMI here, just want to be thorough for my own purposes. I had really bad cramps this evening and I’m still having TMI issues, and I had a small amount of bleeding although I’m two weeks away from my period. Kind of concerned about the latter so I’m going to go to the doctor either tomorrow or Monday.  :wacko:
IMG_20150125_123554136
As I write this post I actually feel sad that this is all gone.

Day 21:

B – Green veg soup with chili.

L – Homemade fish pie – SO GOOD – with tomato.

D – A chili-lime chicken thigh, some pina colada chicken and some spinach and tomato.

  • Sundays are meal prep! I have so much food for the week ahead right now – meatballs, chicken curry, pina colada chicken, roasted carrots, fish pie and some sloppy-joe-style-mince (that I defrosted yesterday for dinner before cooking all the other things!). Probably I’ll freeze some of it, it’s just hard to decide what to freeze as it’s all so delicious  ;)
IMG_20150125_200523904
Meal prep donezo!

So that’s how week 3 went! On this side of the week things (digestion-wise) are lots better so I’m glad I’ve stuck with it so far 🙂 Can’t believe I’m going into the last week now!

Take a look at what others are eating here.

2 thoughts on “Week 3 of my Whole 30!

  1. IBS is quite the bitch – I wonder if you’d be up for (after a little break when Whole 30 ends) the autoimmune paleo diet? Only because of the tomatoes and aubergine… could they be a prob? And I wouldn’t worry on the potato binge (I could make a fellow Irish lass quip but I won’t) but it’s natural for us to go a little nuts on starches when we reduce them so much. I know that as long as I get a good starchy fix mostly every evening, then I don’t get bingey when I see a white food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

