Christmas Biscotti – Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014!

CAM00330 My Christmas biscotti – get the recipe below!

This year I’ve participated in the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014!

It’s been quite exciting.

I mean, what could be more exciting than giving and receiving cookies to and from some amazing food bloggers?

Doing it for a children’s charity, that’s what! All of the bloggers participating have paid a small amount of money and it’s all going to a children’s charity.

PicMonkey Collage

I received some truly delicious cookies – some chocolate chip cookies with cranberries, chocolate chip and walnut cookies and candy cane double chocolate cookies! Can’t wait to get the recipes 🙂

I’m such an idiot, but I somehow managed to throw away the cards with the packaging so I have no idea who sent me cookies apart from Angela from the Awkward Blog because of the photo above! So could the bloggers who also sent me cookies please get in touch as I’d love to update the post to include you! I’ll keep an eye out when the round up is posted for you guys anyway. So sorry, bad blogger alert 😦  EDIT: Pat from Pat’s Kitchen is the blogger who sent me the white chocolate and cranberry cookies – check out her blog for the recipe, they were so tasty!

Anyway.

I sent some Christmas biscotti to the bloggers I was matched with. It was my first time attempting biscotti and I was really happy with the results!

CAM00315

Adapted from the recipes found here and here.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup light olive oil

  • 3/4 cup white sugar

  • 1 tablespoon mixed peel

  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

  • 1 1/2 cups toasted mixed nuts

  • 2 tsp mixed spice

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 150°C. Line and grease a baking tray.

2. Get a mixing bowl and throw in the olive oil and the sugar. Blend them together well. Add the almond extract. Beat the eggs into the mixture.

3. Now mix together your dry ingredients – the flour, salt, mixed spice and baking powder. Stir them into the wet mixture.

4. Add the mixed peel, the dried cranberries and the toasted mixed nuts and stir until everything is incorporated evenly.

5. The mixture is going to be sticky, so wet your hands before forming it into three logs on the prepared baking tray from above. (Or two logs – I wanted miniature biscotti bites.)

6. Put the baking tray into the oven for 35 minutes – they should be a nice light brown colour (see picture below) when you take them out.

7. Allow the logs to cool for around 35 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to around 130°C.

8. Slice the logs diagonally. Put these slices flat on their sides on the baking tray and put them into the oven for a further 10 minutes. Leave them to cool on a wire tray.

9. Enjoy with a cup of coffee or tea!

CAM00307
This is what the logs will look like when you take them out of the oven.

CAM00328

CAM00316

5 thoughts on “Christmas Biscotti – Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014!

    1. Thanks so much for replying, and for the delicious cookies! I didn’t get any pictures of yours unfortunately, as I was on the way to a party when I picked them up from the post box and they went down extremely well 😉 Thank you thank you thank you, and happy Christmas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

