WIAW: Olive-Love and a Fruity Sandwich

It’s What I Ate Wednesday time again, as hosted by the lovely Peas & Crayons.

I don’t know about you guys, but the weather has really taken a turn for the worse here – it’s gotten so rainy! At least there’s the chance of a beautiful rainbow after. I guess. It’s hard to enjoy it if you’re soaked to the skin as you forgot your umbrella, haha.

CAM00676As Monday was a bank holiday I decided to stay home Monday night and return to Dublin yesterday morning. So I had to get the 6.30 am bus, i.e. basically I got the bus in the middle of the night. So horrible.

I had breakfast when I got back up to Dublin – Ready Brek with almond milk and topped with granola and coconut flakes.

CAM00890
Coconut on everything plz.

After class I was starving but I hadn’t done any grocery shopping, so I grabbed a roll from a bakery on the way to Tesco. It was really good, but huge so I only had half and I’ll eat the rest for lunch today! #cheapskatestudentlife

I’m a bit on the fence about it; it was only okay. It was a rustic-style roll with cooked ham (not much flavour from that), a really sweet cranberry relish, brie, rocket and some sliced pear. I actually ended up taking the pear out as it was a bit too sweet when peared (I’m mature) with the relish!

CAM00901
So fruity.

When I came home in the afternoon I snacked a little on some of these:

CAM00724
Olove these.

Totally rediscovering my love for olives right now. This pack is so handy and I love the herbs, but unfortunately it’s waaaay too salty for me. I can only handle about two or three at a time. 😦

In the afternoon I also had about three dried figs. These ones are super soft too, so good!

CAM00932
Figgy fig.

Dinner was super lazy. I had some soup that I bought in Tesco, it was this one here. It tasted good, but for some reason, no matter how angelic the ingredients, whenever I buy soup from the supermarket it always gives me heartburn afterwards. Only homemade soup doesn’t; it’s so strange.

CAM00963
Topped with Greek yoghurt and cracked black pepper.

Is this week a rainy one for you too?

Do you like your sandwiches fruity?

Do you have heartburn issues with processed food? I can’t be the only one. :-/

4 thoughts on “WIAW: Olive-Love and a Fruity Sandwich

  1. ‘Olove these’ < YES

    Need that on a t-shirt, somehow…

    Yeah there is something creepy about ready made soups – I think the salt they use? Like, I have a lot of salt in my diet but it's mostly sea salt. I wonder if that's it… I'd rather not think about what they might be getting up to in the factory, so let's just go with salt.

    Like

    1. Haha that would be a great t-shirt alright!

      Possibly! It wasn’t overly salty though, it was the kind of soup that comes refrigerated in a carton if you know what I mean? I can’t eat packet soups (that you add water to) at all, they’re so salty that they almost make me gag!

      Like

  2. Mhmm that roll looks delicious! I usually love the salty-sweet combo and cranberry relish=my fav. There’s a Norwegian cranberry sauce that I put on basically any savory dish and it totally makes the meal for me!

    I wish I had some rain here in California! We’re actually in a drought so there hasn’t been any solid rain in months.

    Like

Leave a Reply

