Coconut Chai Cake for Lazy Bums

CoconutChaiCake3

I got this recipe from the amazing Shutterbean.

And I feel uncomfortable saying that I ‘adapted’ it.

Because I feel like that implies that I did so on purpose, using my own knowledge and finesse.

Truth be told, I just decided to bake a cake on a whim, found this recipe in a bookmarked folder on my laptop, and went about making it with the ingredients and equipment I had on hand. I didn’t have any cardamom, light brown sugar, unsalted butter, coconut flakes, or plain yoghurt. I didn’t use a stand mixer. And I didn’t have the time to wait for eggs to reach room temperature.

But I used what I had, and it worked out wonderfully.

(Probably due to the adaptability and durability of the original recipe more so than any ability on my part.)

Anyway, here’s to occasional laziness.

CoconutChaiCake1

Ingredients:

Streusel Topping:

  • 1/2 cup salted butter, plus extra for baking tin (I know that you should use unsalted butter for baking so that you can control the amount of salt, but that would require buying extra butter for baking only and this is a lazy recipe. If you want to be good, use unsalted butter and add half a teaspoon of salt.)
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar (If, like me, you don’t have light brown sugar in your press, you can use half granulated sugar and half dark brown sugar and no one will ever know πŸ˜‰ )
  • 1 cup unsweetened desiccated coconut
  • 2 teaspoons ground mixed spice (I used Goodall’s, which contains cinnamon, coriander, cloves, fennel, ginger, and bayleaf.)
  • 1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper

Yogurt Cake:

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup salted butter, at room temperature (See above re. salted and unsalted butter.)
  • 1 cup whole milk Greek yoghurt (or plain yoghurt or sour cream) at room temperature
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature (Don’t tell anyone, but I didn’t have time to get the egg and yoghurt at room temperature, so I chanced throwing them in slightly chilly. The mixture did curdle a teeny teeny bit, but the cake turned out just fine and delicious anyway. πŸ™‚ )
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method:

1. Heat the oven to 180 C. Get your baking tray ready with some butter and flour. I used a square tin because I wanted to make sort of bars/squares from the cakes. It wasn’t a springform pan so I used greaseproof paper as well for convenience. I’m not sure of how many inches it was, but in the original recipe Shutterbean used a 9 inch spring form pan so maybe start from there!

2. Combine the streusel ingredients in a bowl. There’s a picture of how it should look below. Resist the urge not to eat it all and put it in the fridge.

3. Combine the flour, baking powder, and bicarbonate of soda and set aside. These are the dry ingredients.

4. In a mixing bowl, cream the brown sugar and butter until they’re well incorporated. You can use an electric mixer if you want, but I didn’t bother (hate cleaning those things).

5. Add the Greek yoghurt and mix well. Now add the eggs and vanilla and mix well again until everything is well combined.

6. Add your dry ingredients, a little bit at a time.

7. Put the mixture into the cake tin you prepared earlier. Top generously with the streusel topping.

8. Bake until a butter knife inserted comes out clean (I don’t have toothpicks in my house, if you do go for it). It should be around 50 minutes.

9. When it’s done allow it to cool and then enjoy with a nice cup of tea. ❀

CoconutChaiCake7
The streusel topping.
CoconutChaiCake5
The mixture’s consistency.
CoconutChaiCake4
How mine looked out of the oven.
CoconutChaiCake2
Om nom nom.
Leave a Reply

