Sugar-Free September

SugarFreeSeptember2

Sugar and I go way back. Back to the days of birthday parties and teatime treats and sweets that cost a penny each.

And that was fine, as sugar knew its place back then; it was an occasional treat.

But lately sugar has become more than a treat, and it’s become a lot more sly. It’s actually crazy how many seemingly innocuous foods contain an excessive amount of sugar – you can meet your daily allowance halfway through breakfast!

Sugar sneaks into my breakfast in the form of strawberry jam, or instant porridge oats…

Brown Bread
Strawberry jam: 6g of sugar in a 10g serving. 

PorridgeSachet
Tesco Oat Sachets: 11.5g sugar in a 43g sachet.

…and gatecrashes my lunch by way of salad toppings and post-lunch treats…

Sweeteneddriedcranberries
Sweetened dried cranberries: 19.5g of sugar in a 30g serving.

Kitkat2
Snacksize Kitkat: 10.4g of sugar per 2 finger bar.

…it reappears in my afternoon snack if I have a yoghurt or a granola bar…

Peachgoatsmilkyoghurt
Peach Goat’s Milk Yoghurt: 9g of sugar per 90g pot. (These pots are tiny!!)

SweetandNuttyGranolaBars
Sweet & Nutty Granola Bars: 8.7g sugar in a 30g bar.

…or else it turns up to dinner uninvited in a sauce or dessert. (Okay, so dessert may have been invited. 😉 )

BBQsauce
Spicy BBQ Sauce: 4g of sugar per 15g serving.

CoconutChaiCake3
Homemade coconut chai cake bars: Lots of sugar per serving.

We all know that sugar is bad for our health, so I won’t go into that here. Suffice is to say that it will do me nothing but good to avoid the stuff for a month.

So, I think I need to break up with sugar.

Just for a time.

I’ll still need a little sweetness on occasion, of course. But I’d like to be aware of that, and I’d like it to be a conscious decision. I sometimes use food as an emotional balm, and I don’t want to do that any more as it’s not good for my health, and it really doesn’t make me feel better.

So here’s to less of this:

And to more of this (!):

Anyone care to join me? 🙂

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sugar-Free September

Leave a Reply

