Link Love – 30 Aug

Link love

 

The internet is one crazy place you guys.

Once again, I was brave enough to trawl through it on your behalf.

No need to thank me.

Your eternal love and support and blog-reading will suffice.

And if that wasn’t already impressive enough, I’ve also decided to categorise them this week for your convenience.

Gold star to me.

Gold star

 

(Yes, I made myself a gold star graphic. What of it?)

1. Serious News

Ok, so this is pretty crazy. I hope you’re sitting down. But, it turns out that Hello Kitty ISN’T A CAT. I mean, what is wrong with the world? At least we have confirmation that Snoopy is indeed a dog.

The Guardian wrote an interesting article about how young people are consuming their news in a totally different way to older people. It’s so true – I can’t remember the last time I’ve watched the news on television, whereas my Dad does so everyday. It’ll be interesting to see how news industry stalwarts like the BBC, RTE, CNN, etc. cope with this in the years to come.

The Guardian had another interesting article where a classical cellist told her story of addiction. Really want to watch this documentary now!

2. Beauty:

Beaut.ie they look at the issue of less-than-honest beauty bloggers.

I know it’s kind of a joke, but I sorta love this brush-drying tip from Reddit! Be careful with your paint/wallpaper if you’re going to try though: 

3. Food:

Joy the Baker made some delish looking carrot and jalapeno soup. Obviously I’m sad that summer is over, but I’m legit excited for it to be soup season again!

If you’re trying to be healthy, vegan, or just lactose intolerant, Fitsugar posted an objectively delicious cherry chocolate chip ice cream recipe this week. 

OMG is this for real??? French fry pizza. You just have to see it; it’s beautiful! This link was courtesy of the lovely Shutterbean 🙂

Apparently we’ve all been eating sushi wrong:

4. Links Touching on Feminist Issues:

This link comes from Reddit. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but Playboy made a great graphic about when it’s okay to catcall a woman:

My favourite: ‘Is she literally a cat?’

Ok, I am so late to the game, but I started watching Breaking Bad two weeks ago and I am hooked. Anna Gunn (the actress who plays Skyler) wrote an interesting article in the New York Times about some of the negative attention she faced in playing the character. Hope you’ll be able to view it. You may need to register your email address – I believe this gives you access to 10 free articles per month.

4. Life Advice:

10 quotes to boost your body image. I loved these! 

Here’s a great article for twenty-somethings about how to prepare your thirties. Key: Be nice to yourself and people around you. Good advice for anyone imo.

Here’s a super cute comic about the importance of being nice to others. There may or may not be a twist ending. It’s great.

5. Videos:

There was a mini Friends reunion on Jimmy Kimmel! It wasn’t even that funny, but it made me real happy excited anyway.

My pineapple slicing skills are, as it turns out, wholly inadequate:

Have you seen Beyoncé’s performance at the VMA’s yet? If not, get watching ASAP!

I know this song is out a good while, but it won a VMA so it’s still relevant! It’s just so catchy:

Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

