Foody Friday – 22 Aug

Add text

I made this chicken stew today and it was so delicious! It’s so spicy and moreish. I don’t follow the paleo diet, but I quite like making paleo recipes as they use real food (if that makes sense) and are usually very tasty! I found this recipe here, and ended up adapting it based on the ingredients I had in the press – I’ll give the recipe as I made it but feel free to try the original!

CAM00006 Ingredients:

  • Four chicken breast fillets
  • Half tbsp butter
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 carrots
  • Half of a large sweet potato
  • 1 tsp ground mixed spice
  • Half tsp paprika
  • Half tsp ground chili powder
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 cloves
  • 500g tomato passata
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened peanut butter (I used Tesco’s Wholenut Peanut Butter)
  • 2 drops vanilla extract

Method:

  1. Prep work: Peel and chop the carrots and sweet potato. Cut your chicken fillets into medium sized chunks and season them with salt and pepper. 
  2. In a large saucepan over a medium to high heat, melt the butter. Then add the chicken pieces and cook for a few minutes so that each piece becomes golden-brown. Put the chicken and its juices aside.
  3. Add the carrots and sweet potato to the saucepan. You may need to add a little water before adding the spices so that the pan doesn’t become too dry. Add the mixed spice, paprika and chili powder and mix around. Next, pour the passata into the saucepan and mix. At this point you can add the bay leaves and cloves as well.
  4. Add the chicken into the saucepan, stir, and turn the heat up for a minute or two. Then, reduce the heat to a simmer and leave to cook with the saucepan lid on for about 25 minutes.
  5. After this time, add the peanut butter and the vanilla essence and stir well.
  6. Enjoy with the sides of your choice – I kept it simple with some rocket.

CAM00009For dessert I had a few of these – have to say I’m unimpressed! It seems like a way for Cadbury’s to repackage unwanted sweets and sell them off together? Maybe I’m just too cynical for my own good. Either way, the combination of the fudge chocolates with the jellies was just weird to me.CAM00022Also cooked some Mediterranean veg up today – how beautiful?!CAM00020To finish, here are my top recipes from around the web this week:

This cheesecake is nothing short of stunning!

I’ve been craving this risotto since I first saw it – Iowa Girl always has the most amazing photography!

This salad makes me wish that summer could go on forever!

I made these cookies the other day and they were so delicious and coconutty! I used ordinary sugar and subbed desiccated coconut for the shredded coconut (or maybe they’re the same thing, I’m not sure?)

Wow. That’s all I have to say to this utterly ridiculous gateau by Lady and Pups. Amazing!

2 thoughts on “Foody Friday – 22 Aug

Leave a Reply

