Medical Supplies for Travel in Asia

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor, nor am I any kind of medical professional. I would advise any person considering travelling to Asia to consult their own doctor before travel, as I have done myself.

I’m going to Asia this week! Crazy. So the doctor advised picking up a few things for my travels. Although most medications are available in pharmacies there, if you’re trekking, travelling cross-country, or staying somewhere rural, it’s always helpful to have some of your own supplies.

CAM00779
Left to right: An antibiotic; diarrhoea relief capsules; sachets for treating dehydration; antibiotic/steroid cream for treating insect bites; malaria tablets; stomach relief tablets; insect repellent.
CAM00775
Left to right: Ibuprofen; mini first aid kit; multivitamins with iron; hand sanitiser; cold relief powder sachets; paracetamol; antiseptic cream; assorted washproof plasters; wound cleansing wipes.

I decided it might be helpful to bring the multivitamins with iron (even though I realise that it is almost always unnecessary to take multivitamins) because I am prone to having a low iron count, and it will hopefully help with the drastic change in diet as well.

When I was in with the doctor, I also got some lovely vaccines. (One of my arms ached for days after. Definitely worth it though!)

Obviously there’s a ridiculous amount of stuff here (I’m only going for 28 days), and it would all take up a huge amount of room in my rucksack, so I’m planning on not bringing the full package of each item. I’ll see what I can do. I think that in a situation like this though, that it’s always better to have something and not need it than to need it and not have it!

Leave a Reply

